Movember 11th, 2013: Losing the ‘No’ in NaNoWriMo


Another 852 words written tonight, for a grand total of 8,363 pages written during NaNoWriMo.

Movember continues and it's reached the point of no return. I look ridiculous. So I figure might as well make a spectacle of it. Come support Movember, please. Validate my creepy choice to change the face of men's health (Link provided at the bottom of the article.
Movember continues and it’s reached the point of no return. I look ridiculous. So I figure might as well make a spectacle of it. Come support Movember, please. Validate my creepy choice to change the face of men’s health (Link provided at the bottom of the article.

Same situation, far off pace but still writing. Now as to why the “No” needs to be removed from NaNoWriMo, for me at least.

After working on the novel, a spark hit. It was the need to write a side project that’s been burning in the back of my brain since 2005. I thought of the idea, but couldn’t flesh it out. Then, in a basic conversation about something completely unrelated, the way to make this idea unique came to me. So I haven’t slowed down since.

Instead of working on the second novel, I’m actually working on a script. So I guess NaNoWriMo has become NaScriWriMo. That rolls off the tongue easily, doesn’t it? He said, sarcasm pouring out. So of the 8,363 word written this month, 4,933 belong to the script. It’s coming so easily and in the hands of the right director could be an incredible thriller inspired by Hitchcock and the basic fear of losing someone you love.

So, onward. It may not be the perfect picture of what NaNoWriMo is all about, but it’s still writing and I’m loving the hell out of it. How are you coming? Chime in below with the comments section. The conversation’s always live on Twitter @ThomasAFowler, use the hash-tag #WritersConquest. As always, keep checking my official website for the latest updates. Thanks so much for taking on the Writer’s Conquest.

Send me a writing buddy invite on the NaNoWriMo website while you’re at it. Support my Movember team, if you’d be so kind, as well. Thank you so much and happy writing and mustaching.

3 thoughts on “Movember 11th, 2013: Losing the ‘No’ in NaNoWriMo

  1. I am glad to hear that you are so motivated to write! This is my first year doing NaNoWriMo and I started late so I am content on the 8, 769 word count. I have been trying to write a novel or the longest time, but have never had the discipline. I work better with deadlines it seems. A thing like NaNo is a godsend for people like me who cannot muster up motivation until there is a ticking clock in their face. I honestly believe id does not matter what you write as long as you write. Just keep writing!

    Tia

    1. Glad you’re doing so well. It’s been a blast and I think the dialogue is flowing really easily. Definitely need more descriptive elements, but can’t overdo it, it’s a screenplay after all. Happy writing, Tia.

Leave a Reply

