The Bold Leap of the Bird and the Bow


Before you being reading, turn up your volume, put on some headphones if you need to, and play this until your ears bleed. Because this song is a call to action and drove me as I prepare for a bold leap.

What happens when your gut tells you to do something that goes against the normalcies of an industry? At what point do you say to yourself “The time is right to break the rules and try something off the beaten path?” You listen and you leap.

In ten days I firmly believe that I will face wild success, or massive failure. No matter what happens, I won’t be in regret. There’s one reason, I believe I have try something a little bold in order to make my dreams come true. I’ve accomplished more in the nine months since my daughter was born than I normally do in two years. It is time to gain representation.

There’s a reason, I refuse to look my daughter in her eyes and have her not believe that she can accomplish anything. I can’t just tell her that she can do anything she puts her mind to; I have to have accomplished my dreams as well to ensure that she believes what I tell her. There is no way around it. If I don’t believe it, how could I ever convince her to pursue whatever she wants?

As a result, when the signups for the RMFW Gold Conference for 2013 came up, one name really stuck out: Hannah Bowman. As I researched what she represented, her agent bio on the Liza Dawson Associates website, and saw what she was Tweeting, I found several common threads. And as more commonalities presented themselves, the timing felt right.

The Bowman & Fowler families have a common ancestry, master archers and keepers of the birds, respectively. They commonly served noblemen and royalty. Now, it is time for the Bird and Bow to join as agent and writer at the RMFW Gold Conference.
The Bowman & Fowler families have a common ancestry, master archers and keepers of the birds, respectively. They commonly served noblemen and royalty in the United Kindgom. Now, it is time for the Bird and Bow to join their mighty powers as agent and writer at the RMFW Gold Conference.

After all, I’ve worked on Current , the novel I’ll be pitching to her September 21st or 22nd, for over five years now. I’ve lost count of how many drafts I’ve done of the book. With the support and meticulous scrutiny from Jessica Engman, my editorial consultant, and the Aurora Critique Group, I believe that they have helped me to make this a better book than it ever would have been had I only worked on it by myself. It is a book that I want to read, but haven’t seen on shelves.

So Hannah Bowman, get ready. You’re about to be bombarded with reasons to represent me, Thomas A. Fowler. Over these ten days, you’ll see the amazing level of support from friends, family, co-workers, and most importantly fellow writers.

I believe the time is now, and you won’t find a writer more dedicated to making the best work imaginable, and willing to listen to critique and requests for edits, should there is a need.

I’m doing what the card players call doubling down on this pitch. There is a distinct chance she’ll say no as this industry is very subjective to personal taste and interpretation. However, as I said, it’s time to find representation for this book and our commonalities seem conducive to an amazing business partnership.

Our families share a common heritage, Hannah’s crafted bow and arrows, and my ancestors were keepers of birds in the United Kingdom. Now, it is time to unite the strength of the bird and the bow. #BirdandBow

One thought on “The Bold Leap of the Bird and the Bow

Leave a Reply

