AnomalyCon 2013 Wrap-Up Part 2: The Enhanced Edition of “The Hour Wheel”


My narrative fiction needs music to thrive to or it becomes an ocean creature stuck in the desert. It is nearly impossible to write without music.

And this is no exception for “The Hour Wheel,” my first published short story that can be found the Penny Dread Tales: In Darkness Clockwork Shine, the third anthology in the series. This is the first enhanced edition that will always accompany my writing. It’s a series of songs that I listened to as I wrote the story.

Penny Dread Tales: In Darkness Clockwork Shine contributors, Melanie Bryant, Quincy Allen, and myself, at AnomalyCon 2013.
Penny Dread Tales: In Darkness Clockwork Shine contributors, Melanie Bryant, Quincy Allen, and myself, at AnomalyCon 2013.

One of the most pivotal moments in writing a piece comes when I can find the music that fits the emotion or catharsis I’m aiming for the reader to feel. Hopefully, with the incorporation of this music, “The Hour Wheel” can only be enriched with these songs.

From pages 245 to 250: Evac by Brian Tyler from Battle: Los Angeles

From pages 251 to 260: Hulk Smash by Craig Armstrong from The Incredible Hulk

From pages 257 to 259: A Promise by Alan Silvestri from The Avengers

The inciting incident for me to come to AnomalyCon began with a meeting that happened last year. I was asked to join a group called Path to Publication, where a group of writers gather to set goals and discuss next steps in pursuing a career in writing. Writer M.H. Boroson invited me to join, where I met Christopher Ficco.

I submitted a short story to the third Steampunk anthology he was putting together, The Penny Dread Tales: In Darkness Clockwork Shine. It marks my first official publication. The first of many, one can only hope. Enjoy reading, whether it’s basic, or enhanced edition.

It’s an honor to be included in this anthology with so many great authors, many I had the priveledge of meeting last weekend at AnomalyCon. Be sure to read about my first AnomalyCon Wrap-Up about Kaiju and some drinking games to go along with the movies. Find out even more at ThomasAFowler.com.

One comment

Leave a Reply

