Help from U.S. Government failure.


Time until submission of my first novel, “Current,” to Nelson Literary Agency: 20 days, 16 hours, 15 minutes, 35 seconds

Word and Estimated Page Count: 92,713 words/ 371 pages

Decent progress today that hasn’t quite finished yet. But I’m at a good breaking point right now so I thought I’d give an update while it was convenient. I began wondering what it will take to sell this book and have it on bookshelves and in e-readers. I was wondering, who will read this besides the obligatory copies my parents will buy?

It was then I looked at our inefficient Federal Government and realized, they are helping me out. The book deals with the use of federal funding and where the government should be involved and where they shouldn’t. Thankfully, this impending shutdown only helps my ability to sell this book as a creative parallel to the realities of the American life right now. It’s great because the more the Federal government fails, the more potent my book could become and it looks like it’s going to get a lot stronger in the coming years.

Of course, the book coming out right now would be ideal; however, just as the recession is still being felt, the book should still have pertinent meaning in today’s society. So while I cannot stand the childlike behavior from the two parties sadly in charge of making decisions, if the book sells like hotcakes I will know who to thank.

See you next week as the countdown continues.

Leave a Reply

