April 7th, 2010 – Preparing for the Best


A few weeks ago I wrote a post about the balance of family with dreams and expectations. When I was younger, all I ever dreamed about was becoming a writer. Family was a very distant follower behind other ambitions much more selfish.

See the post here: https://thomasafowler82.wordpress.com/2010/03/17/march-17th-2010-the-struggle-for-something-better/

Currently, I am taking some time off from writing “Current” to think about characters and story. I have been so enveloped in research and development of the science and politics of it all, I began to grow tired of it. That’s good though. Because at this point the questions I have are minimal. I had to tell myself to stop because there is only so long you can work on research. At a certain point, your problem solving and motivation has to step forward to get things done right.

I am finishing some short stories and poems to try to get those published around the time that I will be finishing the early drafts of the novel. That way, when agents and publishers see my shorter published works, they will hopefully call me to inquire about other works I have ready. At least that is one of the more successful methods for writers with no “in” to get noticed. If you know someone I can shamelessly promote my work to, please let me know though.

So as I move forward, I realize that I need to prepare for the best. I remember a couple of quotes, one being from Master Yoda, “Do or do not, there is no try.” Another one is from Henry Ford, brilliantly retold by no other than Stewie Griffin, “Whether you think you can or whether you think you can’t, you’re right.”

A lot of times when it comes to trying to really get something done, such as getting “The Code” promoted or trying to get representation with my screenplay for “The Canvas Poets,” I went in expecting rejections. I was proud of my work and thought that it deserved the chance, but deep down I didn’t give myself the chance.

Now I have to instead change my method of thinking. After the first draft of the novel is done, there is only one thing I can do: Go through each and every line of the book and think about why that sentence has to exist. These poems have to be published, my short stories have to be published. This book has to be published.

I have to remember that I have literally written thousands of pages that haven’t seen the light of day. Honestly, I think I am the one to blame the most. Majority of my screenplays get a first draft, I do extremely minor changes, and then it goes into a filing cabinet.

I have to begin preparing for the best. I have to think about my next novel after I finish “Current” because my agent, my publisher, and my fans will be eagerly anticipating it. Until I believe that to be true, I may as well continue putting lazily edited first drafts into the filing cabinet for the rest of my life.

One comment

Leave a Reply

