Day Four – A Great Sentence, Part Two


I am already excessively glad that I have decided to begin this blog. While I am unsure if it is a direct trigger or not, I am starting to think about the story on a constant basis. Today, a first grader actually helped me think of another great sentence.

While I was subbing today, one student needed a pencil. He reached into the pencil bin that is for their table, as in the students share their pencils. Another student decided that the other student shouldn’t have that pencil. So he scratched him in the face, naturally. Anyway, long story short. I had the two talk to one another and the scratching student had to apologize because the scratched did nothing. He grudgingly apologized and then proceeded not to talk to me and stopped working. I tried talking to him to turn him around, but he decided that I was his enemy and wouldn’t even look at me.

I took his stuff away because he kept tearing papers, breaking the pencils he previously protected so vehemently, etc. He needed to just cool off and sit by himself quietly for a while. About thirty minutes later, he was friendlier than ever to me. Initially I was completely confused about his actions. However, then I wondered if he maybe thought through what I did and how I tried to help him and calm the situation. While I am not entirely sure, it seemed that he realized I reprimanded him but then tried to help him because he apologized. The rest of the day he and I got along greatly.

I realized that would be such a perfect conflict for the story. The character Jacob Lowe is the retired naval commander in charge of the crew of eight. His past has made him excessively protective and hard on others. Initially when they get down to the station, the crew is overwhelmed by his fierce schedule and rigorous demeanor. While he means well, it comes off as extremely rude. So, how perfect would it be if two of the characters went through something very similar to the experience of today? In creating the different elements of the story, a situation similar to my experience today will be ideal to fit into the story. Of course the situation will be much more mature and dramatically enhanced for reading enjoyment, but it seems perfect. So after that I thought of the situation and how it can fit into the story seamlessly to enhance the early parts of the book in working on relationships and character.

So for two days in a row a great moment has come to me, at least it’s great in my head. The key is translating these great moments and sentences into full chapters to create a consistent experience. Not one of those books that has some really good parts. The sentences have been great because if I can implement them into the whole chapter and book properly, they will do several things. First, show great description. One I thought of was very descriptive of a scenario and the atmosphere of it. How it looks, and how it feels. Today’s revelation is concerning the relationship between the characters during the budding days of the eight crew members’ journey. The sentences also have great moments of emotion, the first being foreboding and daunting. The latter sentence will be a chapter catharsis for Jacob. Far from his climactic moment of emotion where everything comes full circle, his job goes well beyond initial discipline and keeping the crew in line.

Anyway, tomorrow I will be introducing two of the characters I’ve spoken about so far. See you tomorrow!

One comment

  1. Kids say and do the craziest things and they are inspiring too. Like how you have inspired me to work on my book and write and record music. And you did it without scratching my face. Keep going!!!!!

Leave a Reply

